flak rss random www

putting stuff in a proliant dl325

I have an old server, but it’s about ten years old, and I’ve been a really good boy this year, so I demanded Santa replace it. Actually, I built a Ryzen desktop and it was kinda cool, so I figured I need an Epyc server to match. Just a question of which one and what to put in it. For background, the current server is an old ebay sourced 8x Xeon with 8GB RAM Dell. It’s actually pretty adequate, but OS upgrades require I put shoes on and walk across town to the data center. I’ve been thinking about a virtualized base to make that easier and faster.

more...

Posted 19 Dec 2019 15:38 by tedu Updated: 19 Dec 2019 15:48
Tagged: computers review

wireless ear buddies

Four years ago I determined the Sony MDREX15LP were the best cheap earbuds. Since then I’ve gone through many pairs. I continued to use one pair after another (they don’t really wear out, usually I lose a pair somehow) with a lightning to headphone adapter, but that’s starting to fray after some hard living.

more...

Posted 31 Oct 2019 21:46 by tedu Updated: 30 May 2020 06:53
Tagged: gadget review

samsung ativ book 9

The Samsung ATIV Book 9 (note: no Plus) is a slightly older laptop from 2015, but I happened to find one on the cheap. In essence, it is the PC version of the 12 inch retina macbook. I thought it would make a good alternative travel laptop, but the usual selling price is a bit steep unless you find a good bargain. I did, so here I am and here it is.

more...

Posted 21 Oct 2019 22:35 by tedu Updated: 21 Oct 2019 23:18
Tagged: computers review

Deconstruct 2019 day 2

The conference continues from day 1.

more...

Posted 13 Jul 2019 01:12 by tedu Updated: 13 Jul 2019 02:59
Tagged: event review software

Deconstruct 2019 day 1

Some notes from the first day of Deconstruct Conf 2019 which is an annual conference in Seattle organized and hosted by the eternally optimistic Gary Bernhardt.

more...

Posted 12 Jul 2019 00:14 by tedu Updated: 13 Jul 2019 01:13
Tagged: event review software

hello android

I’ve had an iPhone for many years, and an iPad for not quite as long. People would tell me I should switch to Android. I thought they were crazy. I recently got some Android devices. Now I know they are crazy. Some notes on recent experiences with a Moto G6 and Samsung Tab S5e.

more...

Posted 01 Jun 2019 18:21 by tedu Updated: 05 Sep 2019 11:28
Tagged: gadget review

razer blade stealth

I tried out a new laptop.

more...

Posted 22 Dec 2018 22:16 by tedu Updated: 24 Dec 2018 04:04
Tagged: computers review

surface pro

Decided to go full dark side. A few notes about the new Surface Pro and my setup. Until yesterday Amazon was telling me that my order would ship on the 15th to arrive perhaps next week, but then miraculously it shipped and arrived all in the same day. So about a day of playing with it.

more...

Posted 16 Jun 2017 06:45 by tedu Updated: 30 Jun 2017 04:49
Tagged: computers review windows

samsung chromebook plus

Apple announced a new iPad today, so I bought a chromebook. Actually, I bought it a few days ago; it just happened to arrive today. It’s a 2 in 1 flip around touchscreen tablet laptop all in wonder. I’ve been doing a lot of reading recently on my other chromebook, but sometimes I wish the keyboard would just go away. And when I’m reading on an iPad, I wish I had a keyboard. Technology is all about convergence, right? Bring on the singularity.

more...

Posted 21 Mar 2017 20:46 by tedu Updated: 16 Jun 2017 01:41
Tagged: computers review

Mini Metro

A fun iPhone (and many more) game. Your job is to build and manage an ever growing subway system, until eventually unhappy riders revolt. The gameplay is fairly simple, with very few different types of resource to manage, but each play through is different. I’m still working out a few strategies, but just when I think I’ve nailed it, I’ll get an uncooperative map. It’s both like and unlike Flight Control. In many ways better. More variation. The intensity builds up over time, but it never demands unblinking concentration. More strategy than action. The game strikes a very good balance between abstraction and realism. Station types and passengers are just shapes like circle and square, but it’s easy to imagine them as residential and commercial districts.
Posted 14 Nov 2016 20:01 by tedu Updated: 14 Nov 2016 20:07
Tagged: games review