flak rss random

Deconstruct 2019 day 2

The conference continues from day 1.

more...

Posted 13 Jul 2019 01:12 by tedu Updated: 13 Jul 2019 02:59
Tagged: event review software

Deconstruct 2019 day 1

Some notes from the first day of Deconstruct Conf 2019 which is an annual conference in Seattle organized and hosted by the eternally optimistic Gary Bernhardt.

more...

Posted 12 Jul 2019 00:14 by tedu Updated: 13 Jul 2019 01:13
Tagged: event review software

hello android

I’ve had an iPhone for many years, and an iPad for not quite as long. People would tell me I should switch to Android. I thought they were crazy. I recently got some Android devices. Now I know they are crazy. Some notes on recent experiences with a Moto G6 and Samsung Tab S5e.

more...

Posted 01 Jun 2019 18:21 by tedu Updated: 05 Sep 2019 11:28
Tagged: gadget review

razer blade stealth

I tried out a new laptop.

more...

Posted 22 Dec 2018 22:16 by tedu Updated: 24 Dec 2018 04:04
Tagged: computers review

surface pro

Decided to go full dark side. A few notes about the new Surface Pro and my setup. Until yesterday Amazon was telling me that my order would ship on the 15th to arrive perhaps next week, but then miraculously it shipped and arrived all in the same day. So about a day of playing with it.

more...

Posted 16 Jun 2017 06:45 by tedu Updated: 30 Jun 2017 04:49
Tagged: computers review windows

samsung chromebook plus

Apple announced a new iPad today, so I bought a chromebook. Actually, I bought it a few days ago; it just happened to arrive today. It’s a 2 in 1 flip around touchscreen tablet laptop all in wonder. I’ve been doing a lot of reading recently on my other chromebook, but sometimes I wish the keyboard would just go away. And when I’m reading on an iPad, I wish I had a keyboard. Technology is all about convergence, right? Bring on the singularity.

more...

Posted 21 Mar 2017 20:46 by tedu Updated: 16 Jun 2017 01:41
Tagged: computers review

Mini Metro

A fun iPhone (and many more) game. Your job is to build and manage an ever growing subway system, until eventually unhappy riders revolt. The gameplay is fairly simple, with very few different types of resource to manage, but each play through is different. I’m still working out a few strategies, but just when I think I’ve nailed it, I’ll get an uncooperative map. It’s both like and unlike Flight Control. In many ways better. More variation. The intensity builds up over time, but it never demands unblinking concentration. More strategy than action. The game strikes a very good balance between abstraction and realism. Station types and passengers are just shapes like circle and square, but it’s easy to imagine them as residential and commercial districts.

Posted 14 Nov 2016 20:01 by tedu Updated: 14 Nov 2016 20:07
Tagged: games review

HP Chromebook 13

Finally got a chromebook. I was interested in the HP Chromebook 13 since it was first announced as a kind of cheaper Pixel. But then it spent several months on HP’s out of stock list. Now it’s back.

more...

Posted 10 Jul 2016 14:35 by tedu Updated: 21 Aug 2016 22:19
Tagged: computers review

iphone 6s plus

Replaced my 5s with the new top of the line, 6s plus. Kind of an awkward name. I propose 7P and 7Ps for the next gen.

more...

Posted 30 Oct 2015 01:44 by tedu Updated: 30 Oct 2015 01:44
Tagged: gadget review

Zenbook UX305

Another new laptop to play with, the ASUS Zenbook UX305 (or UX305F sometimes). I’m a little late to the party, these have been available for some time. Amazon had a $100 rebate off the regular price, which puts it at pretty fair price I think ($599). I was looking for a second laptop, one specifically to serve as a “second” laptop, to run Windows when I wanted, etc. My laptop lifecycle seems to involve running Windows for a bit, then eventually giving up and installing OpenBSD. I’ve spent the day playing with this thing, so here are some early thoughts. It’s not my intention to use this laptop as a primary machine (although one could), but I think I’ve gotten a feel for what it would be like. The Anand Tech review is more complete than here.

more...

Posted 07 Oct 2015 01:55 by tedu Updated: 20 Oct 2015 02:56
Tagged: computers review